Sebagai Sarana Menyambung Tali Persaudaraan dan Memajukan Ekonomi Bangsa

1. FUTURE

Forms

+ I/You/They/We/He/She/It will work
I/You/They/We/He/She/It Will not (won’t) work
? Will I/You/They/We/He/She/It work
+ I am 

You/They/We are

He/She/It is

going to Buy a cake
I am not 

You/They/We are not

He/She/It is not

going to Buy a cake
? Am I 

Are you/They/We

Is He/She/It

going to Buy a cake

Uses of “will”

–         We can use will (‘ll) + bare infinitive to refer to the future when we make an instant or spontaneous decision to do something.

A   : We’ve run out of paper for the printer

B    : I’ll go and get some from the stock room

–         We can use will to make predictions that will be true in the future.

TV will make a great impact on consumer behavior, and advertisers will have to approach customers in completely new way.

–         Will can also be used to ask if someone is willing to do something, to make request, promises, and threats, and to offer help :

  1. Hello caller, I am afraid the line is busy. Will you hold?
  2. A         : Will you give me a hand with these boxes?

B          : Yes, of course I will

  1. Don’t worry about the meeting. I will support you.

The word won’t can mean is not willing to or is refusing to :

There’s something wrong with the printer. It won’t print copies in reserves order.

Uses of “be going to”

–         We use going to + bare infinitive to talk about something we intend to do, or have already decided to do

–         We can also use going to for making strong predictions when there is some physical evidence that an event will take place

Based on these figures, we are going to make a loss of $1.5 m this year.

Uses of “Present continuous” form

–         Arrangement

The present continuous is often used to talk about appointment or things we have arranged to do in the future. We generally use it with a future time phrase :

What are you doing on Friday afternoon? (What have you arranged to do?)

I am going to go to my friend’s house (I have arranged to go there)

2. SOME, ANY, MANY, MUCH, A LOT OF

A. Forms of some/any

Plural countable nouns Uncountable noun
+ We need some machines We need some sugar
We do not need some machines We do not need sugar
? Do we need some machines? 

Do we need any machines

Do we need some sugar? 

Do we need some sugar?

We use some to make an offer when we think the answer will be “yes”

Would you like some tea? Yes, I would

Can I offer you some coffee? Yes, please

We use any to make an offer when we think don’t know the answer :

Do you want any coffee? No, thank you

–         We use a lot of in positive and negative sentences and questions with both countable and uncountable nouns :

I have a lot books

We don’t have a lot of time

Do you have a lot of money?

–         We can use many or a lot of in positive statements

I have many American friends

I’ve got a lot of money

–         We use many with plural countable nouns in negative and questions sentences

Do you have many novels?

There aren’t many books in this class

–         We use much with uncountable nouns in negative and questions sentences

Do you do much advertising?

I don’t have much time

Sumber : Hand Out English Professional I Stie PGRI DEWANTARA JOMBANG by Ida Setyawati, S.Pd, M.Pd

Indeks Bahasa Inggris I

Leave a Reply

